2014 Camellia Nomenclature – No Longer Available

PreviewSm In 1942 the first “nomenclature” book was published. Edited by Verne McCaskill, the book was entitled Classification of Camellias and listed 196 varieties. The second nomenclature book was published in 1946 and listed the names of 291 varieties obtainable and grown in the Los Angeles area.   In  1951 the third revised edition of The Camellia‚ its Culture and Nomenclature” was published under the editorship of William Woodroof. John  Clairmont, President of the Society at that time, gave credit to Bill Woodroof for the countless hours he had spent gathering information and data for the publication. Under Bill Woodroof’s editorship, Camellia Nomenclature in its present form was born. The initial and continued purpose of the publication was to decrease confusion and settle controversies surrounding the names of both old and new cultivars of camellias and to present a short, concise nomenclature list for the information and protection of the amateur grower generally. Nomenclature editors have changed since Bill’s  first edition, but the stated purpose has continued. The list of 196 varieties in that first “nomenclature” has grown to over 3,000. For 2014, the camellia nomenclature research committee adopted 29 changes in size and 4 species changes.

The 27th edition of Camellia Nomenclature 2014 has sold out.

It is no longer available for purchase.

Supplements to The Camellia Nomenclature:
Camellia Nomenclature Supplement
(Camellias registered by SCCS since the publication of “Camellia Nomenclature 2014″. Current through January, 2015.)

Original Nomenclature – 1947

Sasanqua – Hiemalis – Vernalis Nomenclature

New Zealand Supplement
Australian Supplement

Scroll To Top