2017 Camellia Nomenclature

Nomenclature thumbnail

The 2017 Camellia Nomenclature is available for purchase on Amazon.

In 1947 the first “nomenclature” book was published. Edited by Verne McCaskill, the book was entitled Classification of Camellias and listed 196 varieties. The second nomenclature book was published in 1946 and listed the names of 291 varieties obtainable and grown in the Los Angeles area.   In  1951 the third revised edition of The Camellia‚ its Culture and Nomenclature” was published under the editorship of William Woodroof. John  Clairmont, President of the Society at that time, gave credit to Bill Woodroof for the countless hours he had spent gathering information and data for the publication. Under Bill Woodroof’s editorship, Camellia Nomenclature in its present form was born. The initial and continued purpose of the publication was to decrease confusion and settle controversies surrounding the names of both old and new cultivars of camellias and to present a short, concise nomenclature list for the information and protection of the amateur grower generally. Nomenclature editors have changed since Bill’s  first edition, but the stated purpose has continued. The list of 196 varieties in that first “nomenclature” has grown to over 3,000.

The 2017 Camellia Nomenclature is available for purchase on Amazon.

Supplements to The Camellia Nomenclature:
SCCS Supplement to the 2017 Camellia Nomenclature
(Camellias registered by SCCS since the publication of “Camellia Nomenclature 2017″. Current through January 1, 2018.)
New Zealand Supplement
Australian Supplement

Original Nomenclature – 1947



Comments are closed.

Scroll To Top